Skip to content

Things I Learned On My Royal Wedding Odyssey

April 29, 2011

Getting up at 3 in the morning is educational in itself, but this wedding business adds another dimension to it. I decided to watch this event for a few simple reasons. I’m not an Anglophile, necessarily. I am a complete news head and have needed a good brain scrubbing (the filling of the brain with happiness, flowers and butterflies) for awhile.  There is a short list of events that people my age (40) can recall in the larger context of: I was doing “x” when “x” happened. You will almost certainly recall where you were and what you were doing when you discovered: The Branch Davidians compound had burned down. The Oklahoma City Federal offices had been bombed. The World Trade Center had been attacked. The assault on Columbine. The death of Princess Diana. O.J. Simpson (which time? He has a complete subset of notorious moments: the slow chase, the glove, the verdict, the civil award, the robbery (!) and subsequent incarceration).

Absorbing all these impacts does a body BAD. I’m no royal watcher, but I relished the idea of having an event that I would always remember, that was newsworthy and historical, and was somehow not horrible. It was good. It hit the spot. It was life-affirming and positive and emotional, and best of all, had a zero body count.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. magdalenaperks permalink

    Yay, Abbi! First post, and a good one. Dunno about this theme, though. WP is fun to play with.

Leave a comment